✪Medical Practice PicksThe medical virtual assistant awards · 2026
2026 award category

Best for Prior Authorization 2026: Virtual Nurse Rx

Prior authorization is the one administrative task where a clinical background changes the outcome.

We may receive referral compensation when you contact a company through our links. Compensation has no bearing on scores, awards or order; companies cannot apply for, pay for or buy an award. See methodology, badge terms and how we make money.

2026Best for Prior Authorization
Winner · Best for prior authorization

Virtual Nurse Rx

Pricing on request · From 40 hours/month · Not stated

Citation

Clinically trained assistants for the work that needs the chart and the payer's criteria. Three companies list prior authorization; this is the one that staffs it with nursing backgrounds. Price on request and a 40-hour monthly minimum are the trade-offs.

Judge: Dana Whitfield, Revenue-cycle judge.

The test

Clinical background, prior-auth as a named role, payer-portal experience.

Winner and runners-up

CompanyPanel score /60Published priceMinimumHIPAAReplacement
WinnerVirtual Nurse Rx35Pricing on requestFrom 40 hours/monthTrainingNot stated
Runner-upMedicalVirtual51$8–$12/hour15 hrs/week part-time minimumTraining + BAARe-match for the same role if the fit is poor (no formal written guarantee)
Runner-upPhoenix Virtual Solutions31From $10/hourNot statedNot statedNot stated

Winner's scorecard

Healthcare specialisation8
HIPAA posture6
Price transparency3
Flexibility & minimums6
US-hours coverage7
Replacement & continuity5

When the winner is the wrong choice

You want to compare a firm public hourly price without a consultation, or you need reception and phone coverage as the main task.. In that case look at MedicalVirtual or Phoenix Virtual Solutions.

Frequently asked

Do I need a nurse for prior authorizations?

Not for routine administrative submissions. For medical-necessity criteria in imaging, infusion and surgery, a clinical background helps measurably.

Published 8 November 2026 · Last reviewed 8 November 2026 · Report an error